The Institute of Mathematical Sciences and Physics (IMSP) is one of the six National Centers of Excellence in the Basic Sciences (NCOE), created on March 23, 1983 by Presidential Decree No. 1416 through Executive Order No. 889, to help advance science and technology in the country, and specifically, to strengthen and broaden the national capability to train scientific leaders and conduct research in the basic sciences.

The organization of the Institute was approved by the Board of Regents in its 958th meeting held on February 24, 1983. Three units – the Department of Mathematics and Physics, the Department of Statistics and Statistical Laboratory (both under the College of Arts and Sciences) and the Computer Service Unit (under the Office of the Vice-Chancellor for Academic Affairs) – formed the nucleus of the Institute. In 1995, the Division of Computer Science and Computer Science Laboratory was elevated as an institute, the Institute of Computer Science, and in 1998, the Division of Statistics and Statistical Laboratory became the Institute of Statistics. At present, IMSP has two divisions – the Mathematics Division and the Physics Division.


To provide institutional leadership in all aspects of development in mathematics and physics and help ensure the accelerated development of higher education institutions in the region


A world-class academic and research center in mathematics and physics


Specifically, the Institute aims to:

1. deliver high quality and effective instruction in mathematics and physics;

2. produce highly trained manpower to lead in the search for new knowledge and applications of mathematics and physics;

3. undertake relevant research and development activities on the applied and theoretical aspects of the mathematical sciences and physics; 

4. provide scholarly and technical assistance to the different sectors of society; and

5. contribute to national development by integrating results of scientific inquiry into social, political and economic initiatives that seek to improve the quality of life.


To exercise academic freedom is our right and responsibility. (RA 9500)

We strive for excellence in teaching and learning.

We are dedicated to the quest for new knowledge and applications of mathematics and physics.

We respect similarities and differences in background and expertise.

We value discourse and shared decision-making.

We commit to the high standard of ethics in public service, always accountable to the people, discharging our duties with utmost responsibility, integrity, competence, and loyalty, acting with patriotism and justice, leading modest lives, and upholding public interest over personal interest. (RA 6713)


IMSP Executive Committee

Dr. Editha C. Jose

Dr. Ivy R. Colambo
Deputy Director

Dr. Neil Jerome A. Egarguin
Coordinator for Instruction

Dr. Allan Abraham B. Padama
Coordinator for Research and Extension

Asst. Prof. Mark Lexter D. De Lara
Mathematics Division Head

Dr. Ranzivelle Marianne L. Roxas-Villanueva
Physics Division Head

Administrative Staff

Office of the IMSP Director

Mr. Rodolfo N. Caramihan, Administrative Aide VI

Ms. Joanalyn D. Enera, Administrative Assistant II

Ms. Jimby E. Casquete, Administrative Assistant II

Mr. Ledon Bert R. Opeña, Administrative Aide III

Mathematics Division

Ms. Ligaya S. Llamas, Administrative Aide VI

Mr. Clodualdo S. Oca, Administrative Aide I

Mr. John Leonell V. Vargas, Laboratory Technician II

Mr. John Robert V. Llagas, Administrative Aide I

Physics Division

Mr. David A. Alcantara, Laboratory Technician II

Mr. Numeriano E. Llamas, Administrative Aide IV

Mr. Florentino T. Torres, Administrative Aide III

Past IMSP Directors

Dr. Anne Inez N. Gironella (1983 – 1986)

Dr. Feliciano T. Bantilan (1986 – 1989)

Dr. Margarita F. Guerrero (1989 – 1992)

Dr. Felino P. Lansigan (1992 – 1995)

Dr. Arturo Y. Pacificador, Jr. (1995 – 1998)

Prof. Rolando G. Panopio 

(March 23, 1998 – December 31, 2000)

Dr. Jean O. Loyola (Officer-in-charge, January 1, 2001 – June 30, 2001)

Prof. Genaro A. Cuaresma (July 1, 2001 – July 31, 2007)

Dr. Virgilio P. Sison (August 1, 2007 – August 25, 2013)

Dr. Chrysline Margus N. Piñol (August 26, 2013 – August 25, 2019)